Waiting period before you can seal your record in Nevada.
Not All Records Can Be Sealed
There are some crimes that Nevada does not allow to be sealed. These are:
● Crimes against children
● Felony DUIs
● Sexual Offenses
It is also not possible to have a partial seal of your record. Any unsealable crime on your record will negate the eligibility of additional crimes, regardless of your completion of the terms of your sentence for the sealable crime. However, if you have been charged with one of these crimes but your case was dismissed or you were acquitted, you can have your record sealed immediately.
Statute of Limitations for Record Sealing in Nevada
The waiting period that must be allowed to pass before you become eligible for record sealing begins as soon as your case is officially closed. This means that the waiting period does not actually begin until your parole or probation period has been completed in full.
With the new law in effect, the statute of limitations for record sealing in Nevada waiting periods that prior offenders are required to observe before becoming eligible to have their criminal record sealed:
Category A Felonies, Violent Crime Felonies, and Burglary
This was reduced from the former requirement of 15 years.
Misdemeanor DUI and Misdemeanor Battery Domestic Violence
There was no change made to the waiting period for these crimes.
Misdemeanor Stalking, Harassment, Battery or Violation of a Protection Order, Category E Felony and Gross Misdemeanors
This was reduced from the former requirement of up to 5 years for Misdemeanor Stalking, Harassment, Battery or Violation of a Protection Order, 7 years for a Category E felony, and 5 years for a Gross Misdemeanor.
This was reduced from the former requirement of 2 years.
(This does not apply to misdemeanors of DUI, Battery Domestic Violence, Battery, Harassment, Stalking, and Violation of a Protection Order, which are listed above.)
Category B, Category C, and Category D Felonies (that are not crimes of violence)s, and Burglary
This was reduced from the former requirement of 15 years for a Category B felony and 12 years for a Category C or D felony.
Acquitted Charges or Dismissed Cases
In cases which are dismissed or for which you were acquitted of the charges against you, there is no waiting period to have your record sealed. This can be done immediately, as long as there are no other criminal actions that are pending against you.